Making trees count: Measurement, reporting and verification of agroforestry-based carbon (webinar)

In Central America, over half of the farmland has more than 30% tree cover. Farmers and our climate benefit. But how are the climate benefits accounted for? Tune in to find out. Photo: ICRAF
(afficher l'original)

Event Date and time

Venue

GoToWebinar

Agroforestry contributes to farmers' livelihoods and resilience in the context of our changing climate. Agroforestry also sequesters carbon, contributing to climate change mitigation, but how much?


A video and presentations from this webinar are now available.

Video: Watch and listen to Making trees count: MRV of agroforestry under the UNFCCC

Presentations:


Over a third (59 of 147) of developing countries have proposed agroforestry as a climate change mitigation activity to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). While countries have ambition to expand agroforestry, their capabilities to measure, report and verify (MRV) agroforestry actions and their carbon impacts are limited.

So how can we make agroforestry trees count in global climate action efforts?

The public is welcome to hear presentations on the latest science and join the conversation. This webinar will:

  • Assess countries' ambitions and capabilities to implement MRV in agroforestry
  • Explore a user-friendly and cost-effective approach to identifying agroforestry used in Southeast Asia
  • Summarize the revised Tier 1 factors on agroforestry carbon stock change factors and explain why they are critical to improved MRV and national reporting 
  • Investigate how inter-governmental dialogue on silvopastoral systems in Latin America is contributing to the assessment of countries readiness
The webinar will conclude with a panel discussion based on questions from attendees.
 
Expert speakers:
  • Rémi Cardinael, French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development (CIRAD)
  • Todd Rosenstock, World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF)
  • Marta Suber, ICRAF
  • Karis Tenneson, Spatial Informatics Group, LLC (SIG

Join us on Tuesday, June 25 at 9am EDT, Washington DC. (8am Bogota, 4pm Nairobi, 8pm Hanoi)

Register here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

This is the third in a webinar series presenting recent land use and climate research by the CGIAR and supported by USAID’s Office of Global Climate Change.

Resources on agroforestry MRV